Ceremony participants

Craig A. Lang, president of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, presided over the ceremony, giving welcoming remarks and installing the president.

Erskine Bowles, President Emeritus, University of North Carolina system, introduced President Leath.

President Steven Leath spoke about his vision for Iowa State in his installation and convocation address.

Greetings provided by:

  • Terry E. Branstad, governor of Iowa
  • Suzanne Hendrich, president of the Faculty Senate
  • David L. Orman, president of the Professional and Scientific Council
  • Andrew P. Bock, president of AFSCME Local 96
  • Jared F. Knight, president of the Government of the Student Body
  • Cory J. Kleinheksel, president of the Graduate and Professional Student Senate
  • Jeffery W. Johnson, president and CEO of the Iowa State University Alumni Association
Music provided by:
  • Simon Estes, bass-baritone and F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Artist in Residence in the department of music
  • The ISU Wind Ensemble, conducted by Michael Golemo
  • The Iowa State Singers, conducted by James Rodde

The Joint Service Color Guard, comprising student representatives of each of the Armed Services, posted the colors.