Presidential installation: Raymond Pearson

President, 1912-1926

Raymond A. Pearson took office as Iowa State University’s seventh president on Sept. 23, 1912. The following day, a reception was held to introduce Pearson to Iowa State’s faculty, and the day after that, he was introduced to the student body in convocation.

That introduction came from Edgar Stanton, a member of Iowa State’s first graduating class of 1872 and a beloved, longtime faculty member who had served as interim president prior to Pearson.

In his speech, Pearson pleased students when he expressed a desire to become acquainted with them, not only as a group, but individually.

President Pearson resigned to become president of the University of Maryland. He died in 1939.