Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

A national search for the next Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion is underway, led by the search committee below and assisted by the Spelman Johnson search firm.

Search committee


  • Toyia Younger, senior vice president for student affairs

Committee members

  • Pete Englin, associate vice president for campus life and director of residence 
  • Jahmai Fisher, training & development specialist, Academic Success Center
  • Carmen Flagge, director of multicultural student success, Human Sciences Student Services 
  • Alejandra Flores Renteria, director of diversity and inclusion, Student Government 
  • Carmen Gomes, associate professor of mechanical engineering and chair of the Faculty Senate Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee
  • Michael Newton, associate vice president for public safety and chief of police
  • Mike Norton, university counsel 
  • Charles Small, senior associate athletics director
  • David Spalding, dean, Ivy College of Business and interim vice president for economic development and industry relations
  • Zhengyuan Zhu, professor of statistics and director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology

Administrative Support

  • Rose Wilbanks, executive assistant to the senior vice president for student affairs

Search Firm: Spelman Johnson