2022-2031 Strategic Plan Development

Campus Town Halls 

Feedback Form

Faculty, staff, students and community members are invited to share their input on the new strategic plan by completing this Feedback Form

Four Pillars

The steering committee established four thematic pillars, each meant to build on strengths of the university. 

  • Innovative solutions
  • Education experience
  • Knowledge and discovery
  • Community engagement

The definition of each pillar can be found here

Strategic Plan Steering Committee

  • Peter Dorhout, chair and vice president for research
  • Jonathan Wickert, senior vice president and provost
  • Pam Elliott Cain, senior vice president for operations and finance
  • Toyia Younger, senior vice president for student affairs
  • Larissa Holtmyer-Jones, president and CEO, ISU Foundation
  • Andrea Wheeler, president, Faculty Senate, and associate professor, architecture
  • Chris Johnsen, president, Professional and Scientific Council, and manager, Extension and Outreach distribution
  • Karen Bramow, strategic plan project manager

Working groups 

Innovative solutions working group

  • Robbyn Anand, chemistry
  • Mark Boeck, ISU Foundation
  • Sarah Kaatz, office of research ethics
  • Patrick Klepcyk, offices of innovation commercialization and intellectual property
  • Michael Lohrbach, IT services
  • Surya Mallapragada, office of the vice president for research
  • Becky Musselman, office of sponsored programs administration
  • Balaji Narasimhan, Nanovaccine Institute
  • Jim Oliver, Student Innovation Center
  • Jim Reecy, office of the vice president for research
  • Beate Schmittman, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences administration
  • Adam Schwartz, Ames Laboratory
  • Qijing Zhang, College of Veterinary Medicine administration


Education experience working group

  • Claire Andreasen, veterinary pathology
  • Shawn Boyne, office of the senior vice president and provost
  • Jordan Brooks, College of Design administration
  • Julia Campbell, student government
  • Rachel Vos Carrillo, human development and family studies
  • Pete Englin, campus life
  • Pete Evans, industrial design
  • Sharron Evans, office of the dean of students
  • Michael Giles, recreation services
  • Bill Graves, Graduate College administration
  • David Inyang, environmental health & safety
  • Charles Small, office of the vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Katharine Suski, office of admissions
  • Bonnie Whalen, office of the senior vice president for operations and finance

Knowledge and discovery working group

  • Sarah Bennett-George, Faculty Senate
  • Kristen Constant, IT services
  • Kristi Darr, university human resources
  • Steve Freeman, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Paul Fuligni, facilities planning and management
  • Daniel Loy, animal science
  • Sara Marcketti, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
  • Jo Anne Powell-Coffman, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences administration
  • Hilary Seo, university library
  • Martin Thuo, materials science and engineering
  • Jerry Zamzow, office of the vice president for research
  • Karen Zunkel, office of institutional research


Community engagement working group

  • Ron Cox, Center for Industrial Research and Service
  • Dan Culhane, Ames Economic Development/Cultivation Corridor
  • Jeremy Galvin, ISU Foundation
  • Nadilia Gomez, digital and precision agriculture biosciences platform
  • Dan Grooms, College of Veterinary Medicine administration
  • Jacy Johnson, office of strategic relations and communications
  • Jeff Johnson, ISU Alumni Association
  • Kris Kilibarda, program for women in science and engineering
  • John Lawrence, Extension and Outreach
  • Frank Montabon, supply chain management
  • Bob Reason, College of Human Sciences administration
  • Rick Sanders, ISU Research Park

Updated Feb. 2, 2022